The Wonder Clock Or, Four and Twenty Marvelous Tales by Howard Pyle

  • Sale
  • Regular price $13.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

It is rare indeed when a writer's original stories are regarded as masterpieces on a par with the great folkloristic fairy tales that have been handed down through the ages. But Howard Pyle's absorbing tales have for generations enjoyed such overwhelming popularity with boys and girls that they have earned this unique distinction. This collection includes some of his most entertaining and imaginative works--24 delightful fairy tales, one for each hour of the day.

When the Wonder Clock strikes one, a story unfolds that reveals how a youth raised by bears grew up to be the strongest man in the land. The two o-clock adventure tells of the faithful servant's search for a cup of the Water of Life. Other tales deal with giants and ogres, kings and princesses, wicked stepmothers, three-eyed witches and three-headed dragons, talking animals and talking trees. Among the remaining stories are "How Boots Befooled the King," "Cousin Greylegs, the Great Red Fox, and Grandfather Mole," and "The Three Little Pigs and the Ogre."

A large measure of Howard Pyle's amazing success is his genius as an illustrator. Accompanying this collection are some of his most unforgettable illustrations, drawings which capture all of the magical splendor of Wonderland and its inhabitants. Each story is preceded by a delightful verse by Katharine Pyle that indicates the hour of the day and sets the stage for the tale which is to follow. 148 illustrations.

Table of Contents:
I. Bearskin
II. The Water of Life
III. How One Turned his Trouble to Some Account
IV. How Three Went out into the Wilde World
V. The Clever Student and the Master of Black Arts
VI. The Princess Golden Hair and the Great Black Raven
VII. "Cousin Greylegs, the Great Red Fox, and Grandfather Mole"
VIII. One Good Turn Deserves Another
IX. The White Bird
X. How the Good Gifts were Used by Two
XI. How Boots Befooled the King
XII. The Step-mother
XIII. Master Jacob
XIV. Peterskin and the Little Grey Hare
XV. Mother Hildegarde
XVI. Which is Best
XVII. The Simpleton and his Little Black Hen
XVIII. The Swan Maiden
XIX. The Three Little Pigs and the Ogre
XX. The Staff and the Fiddle
XXI. How the Princess's Pride was Broken
XXII. How Two Went into Partnership
XXIII. King Stork
XXIV. The Best that Life has to Give

Target Age: 8-14

Dover Classics for Children

Pub Date: February 29, 2012

0.7" H x 9.1" L x 6.1" W

318 pages