The House of Owls by Tony Angell

  • Sale
  • Regular price $18.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Tony Angell, master artist and naturalist, offers an intimate account of owls he has observed, admired, and depicted for decades

 

For a quarter century, Tony Angell and his family shared the remarkable experience of closely observing pairs of western screech owls that occupied a nesting box outside their forest home. The journals the author recorded his observations in, and the captivating drawings he created, form the heart of this compelling book--a personal account of an artist-naturalist's life with owls. Angell's extensive illustrations show owls engaged in what owls do--hunting, courting, raising families, and exercising their inquisitive natures--and reveal his immeasurable respect for their secret lives and daunting challenges.

 

Angell discusses the unique characteristics that distinguish owls from other bird species and provides a fascinating overview of the impact owls have had on human culture and thought. He also offers detailed scientific descriptions of the nineteen species of owls found in North America, as well as their close relatives elsewhere. Always emphasizing the interaction of humans and owls, the author affirms by his own example the power of these birds both to beguile and to inspire.

"[An] enchanting look-in on some of the least known birds of the animal kingdom... Throughout Angell uses his own intricate illustrations and approachable descriptions to make it easy to understand these strange bird's anatomy."--Laura Cole, Geographical--Laura Cole "Geographical" (4/1/2017 12:00:00 AM)


"Tony Angell writes (and draws) with the absolute authority of one who has studied, rehabilitated, lived with and loved the animals his whole life . . . This book is alive with his chiaroscuro depictions of owls in every imaginable pursuit."-- Wall Street Journal

 

" The House of Owls is the apotheosis of a life-time's engagement with owls. Steeped in the tradition of Alexander Wilson and John James Audubon, it blends taxonomy, ornithology, biogeography and autobiography."--Janette Currie, Times Literary Supplement

 

"A charming personal account, accompanied by nearly 100 illustrations, that underscores how owls and other birds enrich our lives."-- Kirkus Reviews

 

"[Angell's] accounts of owls' lives and habits, along with his intimate, detailed illustrations, manage to make the creatures seem both more familiar and more mysterious . . . A tale well-told, beautifully illustrated, and imparted by just the right voice."-- American Scientist

Tony Angell is the author or illustrator of numerous books in the fields of art and natural history.

0.5" H x 9.2" L x 6.9" W

224 pages

paperback