Mother West Wind's Children by Thornton W. Burgess

  • Sale
  • Regular price $5.50
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Danny Meadow Mouse learns to laugh, Grandfather Frog gets even, and the Merry Little Breezes have a busy day in the second volume of Thornton Burgess's popular Green Forest series. These heartwarming tales recount the adventures of Peter Rabbit, Reddy Fox, Jimmy Skunk, Hooty the Owl, and other endearing characters. Suffused with gentle humor and embellished by George Kerr's illustrations from the original 1911 edition, the stories offer children enduring lessons about wildlife ecology. This edition includes a new Foreword by John Richmond of the Thornton W. Burgess Society.

Table of Contents:

I. Danny Meadow Mouse Learns Why His Tail Is Short II. Why Reddy Fox Has No Friends III. Why Peter Rabbit's Ears Are Long IV. Reddy Fox Disobeys V. Striped Chipmunk's Pockets VI. Reddy Fox, the Boaster VII. Johnny Chuck's Secret VIII. Johnny Chuck's Great Fight IX. Mr. Toad's Old Suit X. Grandfather Frog Gets Even XI. The Disappointed Bush XII. Why Bobby Coon Washes His Food XIII. The Merry Little Breezes Have a Busy Day XIV. Why Hooty the Owl Does Not Play on the Green Meadows XV. Danny Meadow Mouse Learns to Laugh

by Thornton W. Burgess

Target Age: 6 to 11

Dover Publications

Pub Date: July 17, 2013

0.5" H x 8.0" L x 5.2" W

131 pages