Little Bear Box Set (I Can Read 1) by Else Holmelund Minarik, Maurice Sendak

  • Sale
  • Regular price $14.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

To celebrate Little Bear's thirty-fifth anniversary, three paperback editions in the series--Little Bear, Father Bear Comes Home, and Little Bear's Visit--have been slipcased in a boxed gift set for a whole new generation of children.
In 1957, Harper published its first "I Can Read" title, "Little Bear," written by Else Holmelund Minarik and illustrated by Maurice Sendak. Large type, simple vocabulary, chapter-like divisions, and decorative pictures made Little Bear perfect for emerging readers

Else Holmelund Minarik first introduced readers to her timeless character in the classic Little Bear. Publication of this book, with illustrations by Maurice Sendak, launched the I Can Read series. This much-loved author continues to write stories for children at her home in North Carolina.

Maurice Sendak's children's books have sold over 30 million copies and have been translated into more than 40 languages. He received the 1964 Caldecott Medal for Where the Wild Things Are and is the creator of such classics as In the Night Kitchen, Outside Over There, Higglety Pigglety Pop!, and Nutshell Library. In 1970 he received the international Hans Christian Andersen Medal for Illustration, in 1983 he received the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award from the American Library Association, and in 1996 he received a National Medal of Arts in recognition of his contribution to the arts in America. In 2003, Sendak received the first Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, an annual international prize for children's literature established by the Swedish government.

Target Age: 4-8


Pub Date: June 30, 1992

0.9" H x 9.1" L x 6.1" W

160 pages

Boxed Set