Early Poems by Robert Frost

  • Sale
  • Regular price $14.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Early Poems collects Frost's first three books, A Boy's Will, North of Boston, and Mountain Interval, as well as a selection of superb work from the early 1920s. These masterful and innovative volumes contain some of Frost's best and best-known poems. Robert Faggen's introduction and notes reveal Frost's complex relation to modern and classical poetic traditions, his dialogue with science and philosophy, and his achievement of making each poem "a momentary stay against confusion.

Beloved American poet Robert Frost's first three books, in one collection

This volume presents Frost's first three books, masterful and innovative collections that contain some of his best-known poems, including Mowing, Mending Wall, After Apple-Picking, Home Burial, The Oven Bird, Birches, and The Road Not Taken.


Robert Frost (1984-1963) was born in San Francisco. When he was ten, his father died and he and his mother moved to New England. He attended school at Dartmouth and Harvard, worked in a mill, taught, and took up farming, before he moved to England, where his first books of poetry, A Boy's Will (1913) and North of Boston (1914), were published. North of Boston brought him recognition as the preeminent voice of New England and as one of America's major poets. In 1915 he returned to the United States and settled on a farm in New Hampshire. Four volumes of his poetry, New Hampshire (1923), Collected Poems (1930), A Further Range (1936), and A Witness Tree (1942) were all awarded the Pulitzer Prize.

Robert Faggen teaches at Claremont McKenna College.


Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics

Pub Date: June 1,1998

0.63" H x 7.85" L x 5.15" W

320 pages